Looking for gift ideas?

Live chat with our gifting experts now to find that perfect gift!

Start a Live Chat

Historic Towns and Cities

3.5 10 reviews15 locations
Product code: FWGBBValid until: 01/11/2019

£179

Add To Basket

Know someone who'd love this?

28 Day Refunds

If you are not satisfied with your Voucher pack

Voucher Exchange

If this experience is unsuitable

Overview

If you’re looking to treat someone to a historic weekend break away, why not surprise them with this Historic Towns & Cities Gift break for two.

Once you have purchased your Historic Towns & Cities Gift break, you will be able to spend time selecting the perfect location for your break from the wide range of locations featured.

The UK has a long and intriguing history with hundreds of hidden treasures tucked away, sometimes in the most unlikely places. There are places where our national heritage has been preserved almost intact, meaning that we have a wide choice of interesting hotels in beautiful cities for you to explore and enjoy a real taste of what life was like for our predecessors.

With a wide choice of cultural and historic settings, these breaks are guaranteed to bring our legacy to life and allow guests to discover the nation’s traditions at their finest.

This break is a two night stay for two with breakfast.

Key features

When can I go?

This hotel accepts bookings Monday to Sunday subject to availability., This break is available on selected dates throughout the year excluding Christmas and the New Year.

How long will my experience last?

This is a two night stay for two including breakfast.

How many people is this experience for?

This is a two night break for two people and includes breakfast.

What else do I need to know?

The minimum age is 18 years old.

This is for a voucher entitling the holder to any of the activities supplied by Activity Superstore up to the value stated.

Reviews

Overall
3.5
3.5
Enjoyment
3.5
3.5
Quality of Venue
3.3
3.3
Service
3.5
3.5
1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Sort by:

Historic Towns and Cities

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

We enjoyed our stay (a Retirement gift) at The White Swan, 5 mins drive fron Arundel. It is by the busy A27, but we had a room at the back so the traffic was not so noticeable. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant had local items on the menu. Arundel itself was picturesque and we can thoroughly recommend a visit to Arundel Castle and wonderful gardens. There are lots of different attractions in the area to suit all tastes and also near to the coast. A great 2 days in June and very hot!

When did your experience take place? Arundel

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The White Swan

Lovely couple of days.

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

Spent a couple of days in lovely Winchester. Some great buildings, nice shops and lots of walking. Would recommend to anyone!

When did your experience take place? 5th April 2018

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Nice hotel in a lovely setting.

Fabulous gift

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

Loved choosing where to stay. Great choice of areas. Opted for Birmingham’s Plough & Harrows. Just stunning and superb location for the canal trust and Black Country living museum. The Botanical gardens are a very short walk away and well worth a visit.

When did your experience take place? October 2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Plough & Harrows

Birthday present

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

4

Yes I recommend this product.

Bought for me as a birthday present really enjoyed choosing where we wanted to go! great idea!

When did your experience take place? September

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Whatley hall mercure hotel. Banbury

An Enjoyable Break

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

4

Yes I recommend this product.

The break was a gift from our daughter; although it took a while for us to book the break it all went fine

When did your experience take place? 7 - 9 Aug 18

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The Edward Hotel, Gloucester

Busy days!

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

4

Yes I recommend this product.

We wanted a few days in Birmingham to visit some National Trust properties, particularly the old back-to-back houses. The venue was in a good location, near the botanic gardens and just about walkable to the city centre. Plenty of opportunities for shopping and eating, a good city to visit, less frantic than London! Hotel staff were pleasant and breakfast was good but the building itself is tired and shabby with horrid 60s style accommodation block at the back.However the room was clean and it has good parking once you've found the entrance!

When did your experience take place? Oct.2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Plough and Harrow hotel

Birthday gift

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

3

No I do not recommend this product.

Bought this as a birthday gift for other half. TBH choice of places you could stay was pretty limited A few more eliminated from the possibilities once we checked Trip Advisor. The place we ended up at was a bit like Crossroads circa 1970 with variable staff and a group of contractors pretty much our only other guests. And sadly the language being bandied around meant we spent little time in the bar - a bit of a pain as we were right out of town and little alternative Wouldn’t buy this again. Other companies do it better. Sorry

When did your experience take place? May 2018

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Chichester Park

Good in parts

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

3

No I do not recommend this product.

I bought this for my husbands birthday so that we could get away from our busy schedule. The hotel we chose however was disappointing. It was in reality a roadside pub with some rooms, most suited to business travellers not tourists. Our bed was so hard I hardly slept at all. However the breakfast was lovely and the location was good for the three days out that we had planned.

When did your experience take place? 3rd December 2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? The White Swan Hotel, Arundel

Worst hotel ever!

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

1

No I do not recommend this product.

I bought this as a Birthday present for my wife and didn't use it till my birthday so I was looking forward to a real treat. Oh dear!! Booked into Methu Belstead Brook Hotel in Ipswich and I can truly say this was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. This poorly run and now rather shabby hotel spoilt our whole weekend away to the point where I now wish I'd never paid for one of these breaks. I've posted a scathing report on Tripadvisor following which I was asked via email by 'the manager' to provide my telephone number so he could call me to discuss the multitude off issues raised. Needless to say, I've never received a call. My advice is, do not take an Historic City break in Ipswich, but if you do, book at another hotel! I shall find it very difficult to book another of these packages again because for me, a complete waste of money.

When did your experience take place? 16th February 2018

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Methu Belstead Brook Hotel

Response from Activity Superstore

Ria - Customer support - 26/04/2018

Good afternoon, We offer a range of hotels for the Historic Towns and Cities break and I am sorry that the choice you made did not meet your expectations. Having looked into this further, I can confirm that The Belstead Brook hotel are now under new management and they are currently renovating all of the rooms to improve the hotel's décor. I apologise that you have not heard back from the manager after leaving your review on trip advisor, this is not what we expect from our suppliers. If you can kindly get in contact with our customer service team regarding this, we will be happy to look into this further for you with the venue in question. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I hope we will have the chance to showcase our experiences to you under a different light in future.

Worst ever hotel ever stayed

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

1

No I do not recommend this product.

The historic voucher was a gift for my retirement and we chose Hastings as wanted to go to Rye and the surrounding area. The hotel room was grubby, the curtain moth ridden and torn, the hair dryer was broken, the Tv would work as didn’t have a remote. Worst of all was the breakfast and the attitude of the breakfast staff. He was sexist, only spoke to myself and ignored any request from my wife. The result was that we both received food that we hadn’t actually requested. I accept we could have complained at the time but decided to get away ASAP.

When did your experience take place? 16-18th November 2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Chatsworth Hotel, Hastings

Add To Basket

You May Also Like?