Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two

4.2 4 reviews1 locations
Product code: ZCWRValid until: 01/06/2020

£99

Add To Basket

Know someone who'd love this?

28 Day Refunds

If you are not satisfied with your Voucher pack

Voucher Exchange

If this experience is unsuitable

Overview

Enjoy a wonderful day out in London with someone special, where you’ll be transported to an iconic part of British history with a trip to the Churchill War Rooms and a delicious meal together.

A secret underground bunker situated below London’s Westminster, these war rooms were a sanctuary for Britain’s former Prime Minister, Winston Churchill, and his cabinet during the Second World War. Here, they spent countless days and nights plotting against Hitler, creating plans such as ‘Operation Overlord’, the code name for ‘D Day’.

These rooms remain shrouded in history, having been left in the same condition as when Churchill and his War Cabinet left in 1945. You’ll easily be able to become immersed in what life was like back then whilst looking around the Map Room, Transatlantic Telephone Room where secret telephone calls were made to President Roosevelt and even Churchill’s bedroom.

You’ll also be able to explore the interactive Churchill Museum, with a whole host of interactive displays to provide an insight into the fascinating life of this prominent British historical figure. You can enjoy reading letters he wrote to his wife Clementine, along with newspaper archives, video extracts, as well as listening to original radio broadcasts of Churchill’s inspiring and famous wartime speeches.

This authentic experience is perfect if you’re wanting to discover secrets of a wartime Britain and enjoy a lovely day out together.

Before or after your historical experience, tantalise your taste buds with a delicious two course meal, offered from a set menu at a selection of restaurants. The options available may include Bella Italia, Fire & Stone, Zizzi or similar. Please note, restaurant sittings are typically at 1pm and 6pm.

Key features

When can I go?

This experience is available Monday to Saturday, throughout the year. There may be limited availability during school holidays.

How long will my experience last?

We recommend spending at least 1½ hours at the exhibition, although some people like to take longer.

How many people is this experience for?

This experience is for two people. There will be other people on the day.

Can I bring family and friends?

Unfortunately, you are not able to bring spectators on the day.

What else do I need to know?

The minimum age for this experience is 6 years old. Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult.

This is for a voucher entitling the holder to any of the activities supplied by Activity Superstore up to the value stated.

Reviews

Overall
4.2
4.2
Enjoyment
4.5
4.5
Quality of Venue
4.5
4.5
Service
4.2
4.2
1 - 4 of 4 Reviews
Sort by:

Excellent commentary

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

Could have e spent a few more hours in the Churchill Museum. Well laid out and very interesting.

When did your experience take place? 31st October

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Churchill War Rooms

Thought provoking

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

A magnificent piece of history... so well preserved. Also deeply thought provoking... I would highly recommend this tour... but take time to reflect.. don't rush like some were.

When did your experience take place? Saturday 1st Sept

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Churchill War Rooms

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

This is a must if you're visiting London, fantastic displays and make sure you allow art least 3-4 hours Will definitely return.

When did your experience take place? Saturday 14th oct 2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Winston Churchill war rooms

Not enough choice and too expensive

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

2

No I do not recommend this product.

I was gifted a voucher for a seaside retreat for 2, having looked at the options available, we found there was nowhere close enough to make it worth travelling to for 1 night away. We exchanged our voucher for the Churchill war rooms and meal for 2 so we could have the day out in London. Had to pay extra for this. When it came to redeeming the voucher our first choice restaurant (as advertised on the experience page) was no longer available to pick, we received a phone call and given a list of restaurants to choose from on the spot. We chose to go for lunch and had a very limited set menu to choose from. The attraction itself was good and the food at the restaurant we chose was ok, however, the activity superstore voucher is not good value for money, would’ve been much cheaper to pay for the attraction and have a lunch of your choice separately! Can not recommend and wouldn’t use again.

When did your experience take place? May 2019

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Churchill War rooms and Browns

Response from Activity Superstore

Tilly - Supplier Team - 13/06/2019

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by your experience with us. Having looked into this, I can see this experience is advertised as including a two course meal from a set menu, however can only apologise if this was unclear. We constantly review prices to ensure that we always offer our customers good value. The rates we agree with our partners are fixed and do not fluctuate based on seasonality or popularity. Our prices reflect the prices we are charged by our supplier and we must add our own costing's on top of this such as our marketing and packaging costs. I do again apologise though if you felt this to be poor value for money. I will have your comments passed on and looked into to help us improve our offers.

Add To Basket

You May Also Like?