Looking for gift ideas?

Live chat with our gifting experts now to find that perfect gift!

Start a Live Chat
Be a Gift Hero
Also available at:
Debenhams Next Sainsburys WH Smith M&S Boots Argos Morrisons
Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Thumb
Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Thumb
Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Thumb
Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Thumb
Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two Thumb

Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two

£100

Add To Basket
Valid for 12 months
Product code: AWXZ

4.2 4 reviews

Tested By Us

28 Day Refunds

If you are not satisfied with your Voucher pack

Voucher Exchange

If this experience is unsuitable

Overview

Enjoy a wonderful day out in London with someone special, where you’ll be transported to an iconic part of British history with a trip to the Churchill War Rooms and a delicious meal together.

A secret underground bunker situated below London’s Westminster, these war rooms were a sanctuary for Britain’s former Prime Minister, Winston Churchill, and his cabinet during the Second World War. Here, they spent countless days and nights plotting against Hitler, creating plans such as ‘Operation Overlord’, the code name for ‘D Day’.

These rooms remain shrouded in history, having been left in the same condition as when Churchill and his War Cabinet left in 1945. You’ll easily be able to become immersed in what life was like back then whilst looking around the Map Room, Transatlantic Telephone Room where secret telephone calls were made to President Roosevelt and even Churchill’s bedroom.

You’ll also be able to explore the interactive Churchill Museum, with a whole host of interactive displays to provide an insight into the fascinating life of this prominent British historical figure. You can enjoy reading letters he wrote to his wife Clementine, along with newspaper archives, video extracts, as well as listening to original radio broadcasts of Churchill’s inspiring and famous wartime speeches.

This authentic experience is perfect if you’re wanting to discover secrets of a wartime Britain and enjoy a lovely day out together.

Before or after your historical experience, tantalise your taste buds with a delicious two course meal, offered from a set menu at a selection of restaurants. The options available may include Bella Italia, Fire & Stone, Zizzi or similar. Please note, restaurant sittings are typically at 1pm and 6pm.

Key features

When can I go?

This experience is available Monday to Saturday, throughout the year. There may be limited availability during school holidays.

How long will my experience last?

We recommend spending at least 1½ hours at the exhibition, although some people like to take longer.

How many people is this experience for?

This experience is for two people. There will be other people on the day.

Can I bring family and friends?

Unfortunately, you are not able to bring spectators on the day.

What else do I need to know?

The minimum age for this experience is 6 years old. Under 16's must be accompanied by an adult.

This is for a voucher entitling the holder to any of the activities supplied by Activity Superstore up to the value stated.

Locations

Tested By Us

Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing
Sarah from Purchasing

Churchill War Rooms

Sarah from Purchasing, July 2019

I chose this experience for my partner as he is what one may like to call a ‘War Buff’. Even though I wasn’t in to war time history, I left pleasantly surprised as I did not actually expect to enjoy this as much as I did.

On arrival at Churchill War Museums we were lucky enough to jump past the two hour long queue to a much shorter 5 minute queue as we had printed tickets.

The lady who greeted us at reception was very friendly and the check in process was nice a quick, just what was needed on a very hot day.

After checking in we were given listening devices to take around the museum with us to use at particular points of interest. We would simply key in the number shown on the exhibition on to the device and listen to the pre-recorded audio giving us extra informative and fascinating facts about Sir Winston Churchill.

Did you know Churchill imported noiseless typewriters for his staff to use in the bunker as he hated the sound of the normal ones!

He was also a well-established author and was pretty good at painting too and my favourite fact was that he believed in staying at the pub until closing time! Which did make us chuckle.

There was a sense of eeriness when standing next to some of the exhibitions i.e. Churchill’s sleeping quarters and meeting rooms, I found it astonishing that he had actually laid and stood in the same areas we were walking through.

The food at Planet Hollywood was hearty, wholesome and delicious. We were given a set menu although chose to upgrade to certain dishes and added on some tempting extras too. The staff were very attentive and welcoming, the only down side I would say was that some of the film memorabilia seemed a bit dated and although we knew what film the T Birds jacket was from and could appreciate the terminator costume I feel as though some of the youngsters of today may not.

Over all I would definitely recommend this experience to anyone looking to soak up some English history or just a day out whilst visiting the big smoke!






Top Tip
Do make sure you print out your voucher for the War Museums given by Encore to take with you on the day. If you do not do this you will not be able to queue jump to the shorter queue and may have to wait around 2 hours to get in through the general queue.

Reviews

Overall
4.2
4.2
Enjoyment
4.5
4.5
Quality of Venue
4.5
4.5
Service
4.2
4.2
1 - 4 of 4 Reviews
Sort by:

Excellent commentary

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

Could have e spent a few more hours in the Churchill Museum. Well laid out and very interesting.

When did your experience take place? 31st October

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Churchill War Rooms

Thought provoking

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

A magnificent piece of history... so well preserved. Also deeply thought provoking... I would highly recommend this tour... but take time to reflect.. don't rush like some were.

When did your experience take place? Saturday 1st Sept

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Churchill War Rooms

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

5

Yes I recommend this product.

This is a must if you're visiting London, fantastic displays and make sure you allow art least 3-4 hours Will definitely return.

When did your experience take place? Saturday 14th oct 2017

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Winston Churchill war rooms

Not enough choice and too expensive

- Verified purchaser

Bazaarvoice Authentic Reviews

2

No I do not recommend this product.

I was gifted a voucher for a seaside retreat for 2, having looked at the options available, we found there was nowhere close enough to make it worth travelling to for 1 night away. We exchanged our voucher for the Churchill war rooms and meal for 2 so we could have the day out in London. Had to pay extra for this. When it came to redeeming the voucher our first choice restaurant (as advertised on the experience page) was no longer available to pick, we received a phone call and given a list of restaurants to choose from on the spot. We chose to go for lunch and had a very limited set menu to choose from. The attraction itself was good and the food at the restaurant we chose was ok, however, the activity superstore voucher is not good value for money, would’ve been much cheaper to pay for the attraction and have a lunch of your choice separately! Can not recommend and wouldn’t use again.

When did your experience take place? May 2019

What was the name of the venue where your experience took place? Churchill War rooms and Browns

Response from Activity Superstore

Tilly - Supplier Team - 13/06/2019

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed by your experience with us. Having looked into this, I can see this experience is advertised as including a two course meal from a set menu, however can only apologise if this was unclear. We constantly review prices to ensure that we always offer our customers good value. The rates we agree with our partners are fixed and do not fluctuate based on seasonality or popularity. Our prices reflect the prices we are charged by our supplier and we must add our own costing's on top of this such as our marketing and packaging costs. I do again apologise though if you felt this to be poor value for money. I will have your comments passed on and looked into to help us improve our offers.

Admission to Churchill War Rooms with a Meal for Two

£100
Add To Basket

You May Also Like

How it Works

Purchase a gift

Purchase a gift.

Get the voucher by post

Get the voucher by post.

Give the voucher as a gift

Give the voucher as a gift.

Voucher recipient books experience

Voucher recipient books experience and creates memories!

Sign Up for Our Latest Offers

Name:
Email: